My Books




The author traces former Prime Minister Tony Abbott’s political development from school through to the end of his time at Sydney University (1962-1980). A contemporary of Abbott’s and sharing a similar background, the author draws on his experiences and reactions to the tumultuous times of the 1960s and 1970s in addition to the documentary research. The book is in four parts: the school years and the 1960s revolution; student radicalism at Sydney University 1973-1975, the prelude to Abbott’s arrival on campus; Abbott’s engagement with the far left (1976-1980): and Tony Abbott and the media. ebook released November 2019. Paperback released January 2019. More information here.



The author undertakes a journey with his ancestors through Australia’s colonial history – a history that hardly has its equal. He traces the cultural continuities of Australian society and shows where his ancestors fitted in. An important part of the story is the indispensable role the convicts played in establishing the Australian nation. Nine convict ancestors are found in the author’s line.

More information here.

* * *


Creating, revising, rewriting, reorganizing

My three completed novels are no longer available as self-published books. I have revised, reorganized and in parts rewritten them for presentation to commercial publishers (2019). Two more titles in the Winterbine Tetralogy are to come: Book One in 2019 (see below) and Book Four in 2020 or early 2021. By December 2019, three complete new and revised manuscripts in the Winterbine series will be ready.

* * *

Book Three of the Winterbine Tetralogy
2019 Revised and reorganised – and ready to go

Gerda Vrouwendijk in disguise as teacher Edith Bicknell shows a keen interest in student Estella Winterbine, an interest only old-school Miss Barker and the local priest see. Despite Miss Barker’s and Fr van Engelen’s efforts to head off possible danger, Estella goes missing. With Gerda’s motivations still a mystery, former SAS officer Geoff Shawcross sets off in pursuit across the world.
The background is the 1960s social upheaval and the revival of ancient Gnosticism .

More information here


Book Two of the Winterbine Tetralogy
2019 revised and reorganised – and ready to go

Two young women enter a convent to dedicate themselves to the service of others. They submit to the rigours of religious formation, but it is not the demands of their training that disturb their ambitions. There is conflict and dissonant attitudes around them. They find themselves struggling with an evil spirit that seems to infect the convent community. The background is the 1960s social upheaval and the revival of ancient Gnosticism . This is the second book in the Winterbine Tetralogy.

More information here.


Revised 2019 – and ready to go

THE NOVEL satirises the way the media, big firm lawyers and sundry activists deal with clerical sexual abuse. It is a tale of outrageous hypocrisy that will sometimes make you laugh, sometimes cringe, and sometimes leave you appalled, but will always be ‘glittering’ in its satire, as one reviewer put it.

More information here.




A Novel

Book One of the Winterbine Tetralogy.
Fr Jos van Engelen, a Dutch missionary priest stationed in New Guinea, is recalled to Holland to combat a suspected program of subversion within his order. He arrives early March 1940. When the Nazis invade Holland not long after his arrival, he is drawn into dangerous covert operations which results in the execution of close collaborators. Forced to flee from the order’s motherhouse, he goes to ground in Amsterdam where he saves a young woman and her baby from being crushed in a stampede. It’s the start of a relationship with the young woman and a deadly tussle with her occultist husband and their radical daughter Gerda.

After the war, he engages in a running conflict with those he suspected not only of attempting to undermine the order’s ways and beliefs but of betrayal. The conflict comes to a head during the Second Vatican Council, the result of which is his expulsion to Binawarra, a small country town in Australia. In a parallel plot, Anneke van Engelen, the priest’s niece, goes astray during the student radicalism of the late 1960s and early 1970s with disastrous consequences.

Book One of the Winterbine Tetralogy develops the early story of Fr van Engelen, his niece Anneke, and Gerda Vrouwendijk with the location of the story in Australia, Holland and England (Sydney, Binawarra, Middelburg, Amsterdam and London). The period is from 1940 to 1972.  Fr van Engelen, Anneke van Engelen and Gerda Vrouwendijk feature in THE CASTLE OF HEAVENLY BLISS, book three of the series.

The ‘Goddess’, neo-paganism, the occult and Gnosticism are introduced as themes of the Winterbine series. The ideological conflicts of the 1960s and 1970s form the background.

Manuscript complete by December 2019

Cover is a mock-up.

* * *

A novel

Mabel Winston is the non-fiction Publishing Director in an international publishing house. She is attractive, confident, stylish, hardworking, a little aloof but appealing. Her personal relationships begin to fall apart when comes across Raf Donnelly whom she has not seen for some years. Raf and his twin sister Rebecca were close neighbours, Rebecca always sweet and affectionate but Raf sometimes like a caged animal for reasons she could never fathom. 

More information HERE. Manuscript ready mid-2020

The writing is far advanced for a novel that the author attends to in spurts.

The cover a mock-up. The Pump Room in Bath features in the story.


The Wilson Family History series:

Book 1: 1788-1900 – Prison Hulk to Redemption pub. Jan 2016
Book 2: 1901-1945 – War Depression War due 2020. Info. here
Book 3: 1946-1953 – Me ‘n’ Pete no pub. date.  Info. here
Book 4: 1954-1958 – Billycarts & Two-Wheelers  no pub. date.
Cover mock-up.
Much of the three unpublished titles has already been written, the text being from the original family history  title From Prison Hulk to Three bedroom House (now superseded). The text will be expanded with more detail and spread over the three periods.


Out-of-print titles:

The Media of the Republic
Gerard Charles (Wilson)
More information here
The Telecard Affair:
Diary of a Media Lynching
Gerard Charles (Wilson)
More information here


Writer … and still in the fifties