Descent into Hades: A Spiritual Journey

It’s January 1957. Virginia Pearson and the striking Aine O’Riordan are among a group of young women entering the convent of the Sisters of the Suffering Saviour as postulants. Strange events torment the sensitive and withdrawn Aine. Virginia tries to comfort her, but Aine’s inability to deal with the dark mysteries forces her out of the convent. With profound grief, she leaves behind her dear friend to deal with an atmosphere of foreboding that infects the life of the convent.

Former fellow postulants, Margaret McGuigan, now Sister Catherine, and Jannie de Kam, now a high fashion model, keep contact with Aine. They were Virginia’s remorseless antagonists, especially Sister Catherine, who Virginia suspects of being behind the strange events that tormented Aine. Aine does not understand their interest. Catherine and Jannie assure Aine their only concern is to encourage her to seek independence and self-fulfilment.

Jannie introduces Aine to handsome personable photographer Harry and the world of fashion modelling, assuring her this is where a brilliant future awaits her. Aine resists at first but eventually succumbs, allowing enticing Harry to take control of the promised career.

Without realizing it, Aine is led further into the dark world she thought she had left behind at the convent.

The CONCILIAR SERIES will consist of eight connected but stand-alone stories. The themes of the ‘Goddess’, neo-paganism, the occult, and Gnosticism are threads through the stories.  The Second Vatican Council and the cultural revolution of the 1960s and 1970s (1965-1975) form the background. The author who lived through those times attempts to recreate their atmosphere.

Book 1 in the series is TIMES OF DISTRESS, Book 2 FEELINGS DIE NOT IN SILENCE, Book 3 DESCENT INTO HADES: A SPIRITUAL JOURNEY, book 4 COUNTERCULTURE DREAMS, due late 2022, and Book 5 THE END OF HOPE, due mid-2023. Revised THE CASTLE OF HEAVENLY BLISS, Book 6, is republished in 2022. Books 7 & 8 (untitled) are due late 2023 and 2024.

Released 27 September 2021

Available through these stores

* * * * *

In 2020 I withdrew IN THIS VALE OF TEARS from publication and reworked and expanded the story into two novels, FEELINGS DIE NOT IN SILENCE and DESCENT INTO HADES: A SPIRITUAL JOURNEY. Below are the still relevant reviews and reader comments for the original title.

Reviews in this vale of Tears

Comments In this Vale of Tears

* * * * *


Writer … and still in the fifties